Harmony and balance has always been the key to a happy, healthy and fulfilling life. We all know that every continuous exaggeration or deprivation in physical or emotional aspect always causes “out of order” situation. Do we treat others with respect, do we love ourselves, how we treat our body, do we allow ourselves to enjoy life or we overdo the indulgence, do we find enough time for our inner world or we only live in the physical world? That are all important questions that we should ask ourselves. It is nice to make a quick personal scan check sometimes, it gives us a better awareness of ourselves and how we interact with our surroundings.
Our well-being is affected not only by our physical body, but also by our emotional and spiritual activities, since we are not just physical beings, no matter that sometimes we behave like that. The word “chakra” in Sanskrit means a wheel and it refers to the energy centers in our bodies.


We all have 7 main chakras that start at the base of our spine and extend to the crown of our head. Each chakra is a disk of spinning energy that is responsible for different body functions and organs; for different feelings; for the personal qualities that we develop, for our physical or mental health, for our intimate or work relationships and etc. Each chakra has its own color, respectively foods, plants, sounds, activities, crystals and aromas that correspond to it and keep it happy! To function at our best, physically, emotionally and spiritually we must keep our chakras – our energy wheels balanced, open and clean. If we block them intentionally or unintentionally we might experience physical or emotional symptoms related to the particular energy center. For example if our communication center (5th chakra) is lacking energy we might be fearful and anxious about speaking and expressing ourselves, if the chakra is overloaded and excessive, there is talking all the time, inability to listen or over explaining simple things. On the physical level if the throat chakra is out of balance we might have chronic sore throat, laryngitis, gum disease or other connected conditions.

There are many ways to keep our chakras happy and in harmony, one of them is through the power of Essential oils. Mother Nature is always by our side, as the old and wise people say “there is a cure for every pain”. Essential oils are highly concentrated extracts of the different parts of the plans – flowers, seeds, leaves, roots. They can be used with an aroma lamp-diffuser, inhaled trough steam with hot water or applied topically on the skin when diluted in carrier oils.

Here is more information for each chakra and the essential oils that balance it.

ROOT Chakra
Color: Red    Element: Earth    Sense: Smell   Shape: Square
Function: Grounding, security, survival instincts, basic needs, stability, physical body, the proper function is also connected to the person’s upbringing and early life.
Goal: Stability
Main problem: Fear
Physical connection: Adrenal glands, colon, kidneys, excretory system, skeleton/bones, muscles
Essential oils : Cypress,Sandalwood, Cedar wood, Rosewood, Vetiver, Patchouli, Cardamom,Clove

Color: Orange   Sense: Taste   Element: Water   Shape: Circle
Function: Self-establishment, desire, emotions, sexuality, creativity, imagination, intimacy, pleasure, well-being, passion, joy, emotional body.
Goal: Abundance of creative energy, healthy sexuality and self-esteem
Main problem: Guilt
Physical connection: reproductive organs, urinary tract, and lowest part of the spine, hips, kidneys. The Sacral chakra is purifying, providing one with a sense of joy.
Essential oils: Orange, Neroli, Fennel, Clary sage, Geranium, Ylang Ylang, Rose ,Rose (organic), Vanilla, Cinnamon.

Color: Yellow   Sense: Sight   Element: Fire   Shape: Triangle
Function: Energy, will, vitality, desire, drive, personal power, self-esteem, identity ,personal freedom, discipline, personal choices.
Goal: To maintain vitality and personal power
Main problem: Shame
Physical connection: Digestive system and stomach, liver, gallbladder, pancreas.

Essential oils: Grapefruit, Lemon, Black pepper, Thyme, Peppermint, Melissa, Dill, Lemongrass, Rosemary,Clary Sage, Chamomile, Geranium, Juniperus, Grapefruit.

HEART Chakra
Color: Green   Sense: Touch   Element: Air   Shape: Hexagram
Function: Feelings of love, compassion, devotion, harmony and inner peace. It is our center, it provides the balance between the physical body and our internal world-mind and emotions.
Goal: To give and receive unconditional love, to be compassionate, to know how to forgive.
Main problem: Sadness
Physical connection: heart, lungs, breasts, chest,thymus gland, arms, immune system, thoracic, blood and circulatory system, vagus nerve, upper back, shoulders.
Essential oils: Bergamot, Zdravets/Geranium, Orange, Rose , Lavender


Color: Light blue   Sense: Hearing   Element: Aether   Shape: Crescent
Function: Communication, choice, creation, resonance. The ability to speak your personal truth and to be a good listener.
Goal: Harmonious communication and expression
Main problem: Lies
Physical connection: Voice, teeth, respiratory system, vocal cords, thyroid gland, digestive tract, speech and hearing brachial, pharyngeal plexi, palate, pharynx, tongue, jaws, and mouth, neck and shoulders
Essential oils: Peppermint, Pine, Basil, Clove, Cypress, Eucalyptus

Color: Indigo or violet   Sense: Clairvoyance   Element: Light
Function: Intuition, awareness, imagination, clairvoyance, deeper understanding.
Goal: Imagination and intuition
Main problem: Illusion
Physical connection: Pituitary gland, eyes, sinuses.
Essential oils: Oregano, Clary Sage, Frankincense, Thyme, Pine

CROWN Chakra
Color: Purple or white
Function: Knowledge, understanding, wisdom, enlightenment, universal consciousness, connection to higher guidance and pure bliss.
Goal: Connection to universal consciousness
Main problem: Attachement
Physical connection: Pineal gland, brain, nervous system
Essential oils: RoseFrankincense, Lavender

Photo by Unsplash

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *